Does Chocolate Milk Have Milk In It?

The clue is in the title. Or is it? That’s likely why you’re here. You are interested in drinking some chocolate milk, but you are not sure whether it actually has milk in it. Well, here is what you are going to need to know.

So, does chocolate milk have milk in it? The average and typical brand of chocolate milk does have milk in it. In fact, chocolate milk is predominately made of cows milk, along with cocoa and other flavorings or sweeteners. That being said, there are some vegan chocolate milk recipes based on nut milks instead of the traditional cow milk.

9/10, chocolate milk does have milk in it.

And it’s cows milk, the majority of the time.

But with the growth of the vegan lifestyle, there are certainly recipes of chocolate milk that you can find online that do not suggest you use the ‘milk of an animal’.

As far as I am aware and can find, purchasing this is not yet currently possible.

I am yet to find a brand that offers such a thing.

So along with milk, what is chocolate milk made of? Let’s find out, shall we?

What Does Chocolate Milk Have In It?

Chocolate milk usually has milk, sugar and cocoa in it. Some brands and recipes call for additional/alternative ingredients too, such as sweeteners, along with some preservatives and vitamins such as vitamin D.

Essentially, it depends on where you are in the world and what brand is available.

And it’s fair to say that the milk fat content can vary too; sometimes its 2% milk, other times its higher fat. Then there are other brands that use low-fat cows milk.

Pretty much all of the major brands/recipes call for cocoa though – that’s what gives the milk its delicious chocolate taste.

For the other ingredients, well that can range.

I’ve documented the ingredients of a few different brands to illustrate my point:

Cocio Chocolate Milk Ingredients

Milk, sugar and cocoa.

Horizon Organic 1% Low Fat Chocolate Milk Ingredients

Grade A Lowfat Organic Milk, Organic Cane Sugar, Organic Cocoa (Processed with Alkali), Organic Cocoa, Gellan Gum, Organic Natural Flavor, Salt, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D3.

Yoo-hoo Chocolate Drink Ingredients

Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Whey (From Milk), Contains Less Than 2% Of Cocoa (Alkali Process), Nonfat Dry Milk, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Sodium Caseinate (From Milk), Corn Syrup Solids, Calcium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Palm Oil, Guar Gum, Xanthan Gum, Mono And Diglycerides, Salt, Spice, Soy Lecithin, Niancinamide (Vitamin B3), Sucralose, Vitamin A Palmitate,Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Vitamin D3.

Fairlife 2% Chocolate Ultra-Filtered Milk Ingredients

Reduced Fat Ultra-Filtered Milk, Sugar, Alkalized Cocoa, Lactase Enzyme, Dipotassium Phosphate, Salt, Acesulfame Potassium, Carrageenan, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Sucralose, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D3.

Great Value 1% Low Fat Chocolate Milk Ingredients

Lowfat Milk, Liquid Sugar (Sugar, Water), Cocoa Processed with Alkali, Cornstarch, Natural Flavor, Salt, Carrageenan, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D3.

Darigold Old Fashioned Chocolate Milk Ingredients

Milk, Liquid Sugar (Sugar, Water), Corn Syrup, Cocoa Processed with Alkali, Salt, Carrageenan, Vitamin D3.

Is There Dairy-free Chocolate Milk?

There are some brands and recipes of dairy-free chocolate milk. These may go by the name of ‘Chocolate plant-based-milk’ or another alternative, such as ‘Chocolate Almond Milk’.

So, you may need to run a few searches if you are shopping online.

If you are visiting in store, you may need to go to the health food section to find these.

In terms of specific brands, I managed to find the following:

  • Silk Organic Original Almond Milk Dark Chocolate.
  • Almond Breeze Dairy Free Almond Milk, Chocolate.
  • Oatly The Original Oatmilk, Chocolate.
  • Great Value Chocolate Almond Milk.
  • Ripple Chocolate Plant-Based Milk

Related Questions

Is chocolate milk whole milk?

Chocolate milk can be made with whole milk, and some brands do opt to use it. However, most brands of chocolate milk use low-fat milk by default. Either way it should be clearly stated on the product packaging.

Related Guides:

Leave a Comment