Are Refreshers Vegetarian?

Are you a vegetarian wondering whether you can safely consume a Refresher, or two? Well, you’ll be pleased you swung by. I have some excellent news for you!

So, are Refreshers vegetarian? Refreshers are mostly vegetarian, and this is true for the majority of products and flavors in the range (including individual chews, chew bars, and Choos). The only exception is Refreshers Squashies, which contain gelatine as an ingredient and are therefore not suitable.

Excellent news, for the most part, right?

So go ahead, tuck in, and enjoy…

Well, not the Squashies!

Let us now see why by looking at what each product is made of exactly.

What Are Refreshers Made Of?

Refreshers are made of glucose syrup, sugar, vegetable oils, acidity regulators, acids, modified starch, flavorings, anti-caking agents, emulsifiers, and colors.

Of course, the full ingredient list does differ from product to product, so let us take a closer look at each one for reference.

I’ve also bolded the non-vegetarian ingredient, and therefore product, too.

Refresher Choos Ingredients

Glucose Syrup, Sugar, Vegetable Oils (palm, Palm Kernel), Acidity Regulator: Citric Acid; Modified Starch, Anti-caking Agent: Stearic Acid, Magnesium Carbonate, Magnesium Stearate; Flavourings, Glycerine, Lysed Soya Protein, Emulsifier: Glycerol Mono Stearate; Colours: Anthocyanin, Copper Chlorophyllin, Lutein, Paprika Extract.

Refresher Chew Bar Lemon Ingredients

Glucose Syrup, Sugar, Vegetable Oil (palm, Palm Kernel), Acidity Regulator: Citric Acid; Stearic Acid, Modified Starch, Flavourings, Lysed Soya Protein, Emulsifier: Glycerol Mono Stearate; Anti-caking Agent: Magnesium Carbonate; Magnesium Stearate, Colour: Lutein.

Refresher Chew Bar Strawberry Ingredients

Glucose Syrup, Sugar, Vegetable Oils (palm, Palm Kernel), Acidity Regulator: Citric Acid; Flavourings, Modified Starch, Anti-caking Agent: Stearic Acid, Magnesium Carbonate, Magnesium Stearate; Lysed Soya Protein, Emulsifier: Glycerol Mono Stearate; Colour: Anthocyanin.

Refresher Chews Lemon Ingredients

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Vegetable Oils (palm, Palm Kernel), Acidity Regulator: Citric Acid; Stearic Acid, Modified Starch, Glycerine, Flavourings, Lysed Soya Protein, Emulsifier: Glycerol Mono Stearate; Anti-caking Agent: Magnesium Carbonate; Magnesium Stearate, Colour: Lutein.

Refresher Chews Strawberry Ingredients

Glucose Syrup, Sugar, Vegetable Oils (palm, Palm Kernel), Acidity Regulator: Citric Acid; Modified Starch, Flavourings, Anti-caking Agent: Stearic Acid, Magnesium Carbonate, Magnesium Stearate; Glycerine, Lysed Soya Protein, Emulsifier: Glycerol Mono Stearate; Colour: Anthocyanin.

Refresher Chews Sour Apple Ingredients

Glucose Syrup, Sugar, Vegetable Oil (palm, Palm Kernel), Acidity Regulator: Citric Acid; Stearic Acid, Modified Starch, Flavourings, Lysed Soya Protein, Emulsifier: Glycerol Mono Stearate; Anti-caking Agent: Magnesium Carbonate; Magnesium Stearate, Colours: Copper Chlorophyllin, Lutein.

Refreshers Squashies Ingredients

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Gelling Agent: Gelatine; Modified Starch, Acidity Regulators: Citric Acid, Trisodium Citrate; Apple Pulp (contains Preservative: Sulphur Dioxide), Flavourings, Colour: Black Carrot Extract, Lutein.

Refreshers Squashies Are Not Vegetarian.

Vegetarian Refresher Products

  • Refresher Choos
  • Refresher Chew Bar Lemon
  • Refresher Chew Bar Strawberry
  • Refresher Chews Lemon
  • Refresher Chews Strawberry
  • Refresher Chews Sour Apple

Non-Vegetarian Refresher Products

  • Refreshers Squashies

FAQs

Are mini refreshers vegetarian?

Mini refreshers are vegetarian.

Are refreshers fizzy sweets vegetarian?

Refreshers fizzy sweets are vegetarian.

Do Swizzels refreshers contain gelatin?

Swizzles refreshers do not contain gelatin. The only exception is Swizzels Squashies Refreshers, which do.

Related Articles:

Leave a Comment