Are Fruit Salad Sweets Vegetarian?

Are you a vegetarian trying to find some sweets suitable to eat? Do you want to try some fruit salad sweets but are not sure whether you can do so? Well, you’ve come to the right place. Here is what you are going to want to know.

So, are fruit salad sweets vegetarian? Fruit Salad chews are vegetarian, although fruit salad softies are not. That’s because the chews do not contain gelatine, whereas the softies do contain this as an active ingredient.

So, it mostly depends on the specific fruit salad sweet in question.

Interestingly, all fruit salad sweets used to be off the table for vegetarians. 

But the chews – those kept in those recognizable wrappers, actually had a recipe change back in 2019.

The manufacturer, Barrets, removed gelatin from the recipe, making them safe and suitable for vegetarians.

But, at the time of writing, this has not been rolled out across the range. 

So, be careful of those fruit salad softies – they are not vegetarian! 

Let us now see why…

What Are Fruit Salad Sweets Made Of?

Fruit salad sweets are made of a combination of glucose syrup, sugar, and palm oil, along with a number of flavorings and preservatives. However, the chews do differ somewhat in ingredients compared to the softies. 

Let us now take a look at the full ingredient list of the chews vs the softies:

Fruit Salad Chew Ingredients

  • Glucose Syrup,
  • Sugar,
  • Palm Oil,
  • Acid (Citric Acid),
  • Hydrolysed Pea Protein,
  • Flavorings,
  • Fruit Juice Concentrates (Pineapple, Apple),
  • Colors (Anthocyanins, Paprika Extract),
  • Acidity Regulator (Trisodium Citrate)

Fruit Salad Softies Ingredients

  • Sugar,
  • Glucose Syrup,
  • Maize Starch,
  • Water,
  • Beef Gelatine,
  • Acid (Citric Acid),
  • Sunflower Oil,
  • Flavorings,
  • Colors (Anthocyanins, Paprika Extract),
  • Glazing Agent (Carnauba Wax)

I’ve bolded the troubling ingredient there.

It is beef gelatin (a translucent, colorless, flavorless additive taken from cow body parts to give structure) that prevents these from being on the table, too.

Finally

Stick to the Fruit Salad chews, and you should be fine.

Whether you buy them as individual pieces, in a bulk lot, or in those sticks with individual chews.

Just be careful that you’re not buying a supply from 2019, though; then you could be in trouble.

But hopefully, you are not eating sweets that are that old!

FAQs

Do fruit salad sweets contain gelatin?

Fruit salad sweets can contain gelatin; it depends on what product is in question. Fruit Salad Chews do not contain gelatin, although Fruit Salad Softies do. 

Related Articles

Leave a Comment