Have you recently adopted a vegan lifestyle? Are you now wondering what candies and sweets you can still eat? Where do Fruit Pastilles fall? Well, you’ll be pleased you stopped by. Here is why!
So, are Fruit Pastilles vegan? Fruit Pastilles are vegan. This is true for both the sweet and ice lolly products.
Interestingly enough, these sweets were not always vegan.
And it was actually due to customer requests that the change was initiated.
It was back in 2020 that the main producer of these sweets, Rowntrees, actually changed the recipe to make them vegan-friendly.
They removed the previously included ingredient, gelatin, and replaced it with suitable vegan-friendly alternatives.
Apparently, they tested over 30 recipes to replicate the chewy texture!
But in doing so, the sweets are actually now slightly softer.
Nevertheless, these treats are now entirely vegan friendly and you will even see a logo on the top right hand corner of sharing bags to confirm this!
What Are Fruit Pastilles Made Of?
Fruit Pastilles are made of Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Starch, Invert Sugar Syrup, Acids (Malic Acid, Citric Acid, Lactic Acid, Acetic Acid), Concentrated Fruit Juice (1.2%) (Apple, Blackcurrant, Lime, Orange, Strawberry, Lemon), Acidity Regulator (Trisodium Citrate), Flavourings and Colours (Anthocyanins, Copper Complexes of Chlorophyllins, Beta-Carotene, Curcumin).
All Fruit Pastilles are vegan-friendly.
Fruit Pastilles do not have gelatin. Although they did before the recipe change back in 2020.
Fruit Pastilles are now vegan due to customer requests/demand. The manufacturer, Rowntrees, decided to reformulate the recipe to make them more widely applicable and suitable to customer demands and trends.
Hello, I’m Matthew – a candy enthusiast and the founder of Sugar Stand. I created this site to share everything I learn about the world of candy – from brands, and products all the way through to recommendations and opinions. If you have a sweet tooth like me, you’ve come to the right place!