Have you recently embarked on a vegan lifestyle? Are you wondering whether you can still consume Blackjacks? Well, you’ll be pleased you stopped by and ran this check. Here is why.
So, are Blackjacks vegan? Blackjacks are not vegan. This is because they contain Palm Oil, an ingredient that is a major driver of deforestation – which has and continues to have a serious negative impact on a number of critically endangered species.
So, you can’t eat them.
And, of course, we are talking about the Barrets brand of Blackjacks here.
Well, they are the main manufacturer and supplier.
But if you are able to find a brand that doesn’t use palm oil or other ingredients such as Gelatin, you may be able to consume them.
But unfortunately, I have not been able to find one as of yet.
Nonetheless, let us look at what these aniseed-flavored sweets are made of and why they are not vegan-friendly!
What Are Blackjacks Made Of?
Blackjack sweets are made of a combination of glucose syrup, sugar, and palm oil, along with a number of flavorings and preservatives.
See below the full list of ingredients for reference:
Glucose Syrup, Sugar, Palm Oil, Hydrolysed Pea Protein, E330: Citric Acid, Acidity Regulator( E331iii: Trisodium Citrate). Colors: Vegetable Carbon, Flavours: Aniseed Oil.
As previously mentioned, this is for the Barrets brand.
So, if you are purchasing blackjacks at an independent sweet store, or if they have been made by an alternative manufacturer, other/alternative ingredients may be included too.
So do always check.
You may be able to even find a vegan supplier of sweets!
Why Is Palm Oil Not Vegan?
Palm oil is not vegan due to the negative and destructive impact producing it has on the environment, particularly in the destruction of animal habitats. It, directly and indirectly, causes suffering and death to many animals, many of which are critically endangered.
Palm oil production is almost as non-vegan as it gets.
Producing this oil has had a significant adverse impact on the environment; vast areas of rainforest have been (and continue to be destroyed) to enable palm oil trees to grow.
And eradicating rainforests has caused a significant impact on wildlife. The main ones affected include:
These are just some of the animals facing extinction due to palm oil farming.
Now, if we refer back to the Vegan Societies definition of veganism, we can instantly see why Palm Oil is inherently non-vegan:
“A way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to animals for food, clothing or any other purpose.”
Therefore, not eating Blackjacks is certainly ‘possible’ and ‘practicable.’
Blackjack sweets are not vegan, at least at the time of writing.
And unless Barrets updates their recipe and decides to remove palm oil, they will remain this way indefinitely.
But as it is so widely and commonly used, chances are other brands, and manufacturers of Blackjacks use this ingredient too.
In fact, I saw another brand using Gelatin – which is again non-vegan.
What this all means is that you need to remain vigilant – check every packet and don’t assume.
Chances are, they are not.
Do Blackjacks contain milk?
Blackjacks do not contain milk, cow’s milk, or any other type.
- Are Blackjacks Vegetarian?
- Are Fruit Salad Sweets Vegan?
- Are Fruit Salad Sweets Vegetarian?
- Are Flying Saucers Vegan?
- Are Drumstick Sweets Vegan?
Hello, I’m Matthew, a candy expert and enthusiast with over a decade of experience in the candy industry. My passion for candy started at a very young age. Since then, I have worked in numerous, large candy stores, and have been fortunate enough to try out hundreds of brands of candies, different types and flavors. In addition to my work, I enjoy sharing my extensive knowledge with others, and decided to create Sugar Stand in order to do so. My mission is to make the world a sweeter place, one candy at a time.